	Roeland Park	Shawnee	Merriam	Prairie Village	Westwood	Overland Park	Olathe
Mayor	Special Election	Special Election	Council president	Council elects new	Council	Council elects	Council
			takes over until	mayor	president takes	new mayor	president takes
			next election		over until next		over until next
					election		election
Council	Special Election	Appointed by	Appointed by	Mayor appoints	Mayor	Appointed by	Appointed by
		Governing Body	Governing Body	new Council	appoints new	Governing	Governing
				member	Council	Body	Body
					member		

	Gardner	Edgerton	Fairway	De Soto	Leawood	Lenexa	Mission
Mayor	Council	Appointed by	Council president	Council president	Council elects	Council elects	Council
	president takes	Governing Body	takes over until	takes over until	new mayor	new mayor	president takes
	over until next		next election	next election			over until next
	election						election
Council	Appointed by	Appointed by	Appointed by	Mayor appoints	Appointed by	Mayor	Mayor
	Governing Body	Governing Body	Governing Body	new Council	Governing	appoints new	appoints new
				member	Body	Council	Council
						member	member

	Lake Quivira	Mission Hills	Mission Woods	Westwood Hills	Johnson County
Mayor	Appointed by				
	Governing Body				
Council	Appointed by				
	Governing Body				